The Cracking

Monday’s Finish the story.

The Cracking

By NVaughn7

2015-05-18-bw-beacham1

First Line:
The crew of the Angel Fire received orders to head out.

A mile out, submerged, a big slurpy thump like smacking jelly had everyone on board reeling.

“What was that?” demanded Captain Smith.

“We hit something.” Anderson’s ability to state the obvious hadn’t deserted him…

m_Flashie things v2Read the whole story and more.

Download from

Smashwords  
iTunes
Kobo
Overdrive

***

To MFTS folks

Just wanted to say goodbye properly. This is likely my last MFTS for this year. Regulars would have noticed I’ve not been around much recently.
My thanks to Leenna and Anush for standing in for me earlier this month.

Like so many others, this year’s getting even more crazy hectic for me, and keeping up weekly posts is not quite working out. So, I’ve decided to bow out for now.

Thank you for all the great comments and (more so) all the wonderful, unique, fun and emotional flash-fic you’ve shared. I’ve learned so much from being a part of MFTS. My writing’s improved dramatically. Hey, I even feel ready to tackle the world of longer stories with the skills I’ve polished here.

So thank you. Your presence was, and is still, truly appreciated.

Before you go, I’d love to know which of my stories here was your favorite. Thanks 😀

See you around the Reader, and maybe back here occasionally 😀
NV

25 thoughts on “The Cracking

  1. I enjoyed your bit of flash here! T…t excellent! I wish you well on your upcoming adventures, although I will definitely miss your contributions. It is a lovely compliment to this challenge that you feel that your writing is better. I humbly thank you for that. It is always nice to know that one has made a difference in another’s life. May your days be filled with love and joy, and of course, be well! ^..^

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t been around long enough to cast a vote but I have to say that this piece really “wowed” me. I love the rich descriptions. In so few words you drew me in, created great tension and had an excellent twist in. I’m so impressed. Well done and best of luck on your new endeavors – a book perhaps?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I went back to view your other stories. They are really great but of the ones on the pole I only found a few and so I voted for Dunderhead. It was humorous and clever!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Well, you’re certainly going out with a bang, aren’t you? Here’s hoping you’ll find time to join in every now and again 🙂

    Love this one with its vivid descriptions – “brittle toffee cracking” is great.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I found a few weeks ago to MFTS and I can agree with your comment about honing your skills here. While I’ve been writing for a long time, I’ve learned to view these prompts from different perspectives, which is teaching me to explore more than my first instinct.

    I loved this story and will review your others. Good luck in your future writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

